Malaysia, renowned historically as "The British Indies" and "The Fabled Spice Islands of the East", is made up of two regions, Peninsular Malaysia, comprising 11 states and East Malaysia, comprising the two states of Sabah and Sarawak. Before independence in 1957, the Portuguese, Dutch and finally the British colonized Malaya, as the country was once known. Relics of her colonial past have left behind a legacy that has lured many visitors to return to its shores for many decades. On our Essential Malaysia road trip you will get to see and experience the best that Peninsular Malaysia has to offer.